Nothing too terribly exciting in the way of food this week, during which we had guests in the form of Geordie’s mother and aunt. I like to cook for people; it’s so nice to be able to sit down to a nice meal with others and enjoy good food together. It’s definitely one of the best things about having a family. I’m very grateful that I’m able to eat dinner with Geordie and Hannah every night, whether the meal is freshly cooked or just leftovers. It’s something I look forward to every day.

 

Monday
Meatloaf, Garlic Roasted Mashed Potatoes (from The Pioneer Woman), sauteed Brussels sprouts

meatloafmashedpots

Sometimes the best meals are simple meals, and does it get any simpler than meatloaf and mashed potatoes? Both of them make excellent canvasses for some really tasty food. I shredded a couple of carrots into the meatloaf (because veggies are good) and flavored it with some balsamic vinegar, which gave it a nice, tangy kick. For the mashed potatoes, I went with something a little more complicated and went with the Pioneer Woman’s incredibly awesome potatoes, which are full of butter and cream and roasted garlic cloves. Which is why there is such a small amount on my plate, because, yowza. Don’t make these potatoes when you’re on a diet. And if you are, fill up your plate with sauteed Brussels sprouts, because they are yummy and not soaked in butter. A meal like this almost always wins at our house, and the meatloaf even got Hannah’s seal of approval.

 

Tuesday
Baked Chicken and Mushroom Skillet (from Damn Delicious), mushroom pasta

bakedchickenmushskil

Hannah is basically over the moon when we put mushrooms, chicken, and cream sauce in front of her, so she went right to town on this one. She was not so keen on the mushroom pasta, and this would have been better with leftover garlic mashed potatoes anyway, so I can’t blame her. This was a simple dish to throw together and was all done in the same skillet, a definite plus. Everything went together very well (other than the pasta, but that was my addition, so no fault of the recipe), and it made for a nice, filling winter dinner.

 

Thursday
Chinese Noodle Vegetable Bowl (from Food Network)

Sometimes I forget to take pictures. Or sometimes the camera is hiding from me and I’m too hungry to think about looking for it so I just start eating instead. And if we have guests, well, I often have other things on my mind than locating my camera, which is usually floating around the house. This was just a simple stir-fry dish made with noodles instead of rice. Nothing complicated or crazy and easily customizable. Hannah enjoyed it – yes, this child will eat tofu and ask for more.

 

Friday
Carrot and Miso Soup (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Yeah, I forgot to take a picture of this too. I’ve made it a couple of times before, and it’s always delicious. I do make one change though: I substitute half a pound of the carrots for a couple of apples. I also sometimes add a little cream or milk if necessary, just a touch to amp up the flavor and creaminess a bit. Topped with a little rayu and toasted sesame oil, it makes for a very tasty meal. It’s never gone wrong for me, and Hannah gobbled it up, as she usually does with soups.

