I miss blogging, but mostly I miss writing about food and sharing the new recipes that I try each week. I can’t promise that I’ll stick with it, but I will try to do a weekly review, if nothing else. Now that Hannah is eating all of her meals with us (no more bottles or formula, hurray!), I’ve been trying to find meals that are fast, easy, healthy, and good for baby as well as parents. Sometimes it all works out, sometimes it doesn’t.

 

Monday
Stir-Fry with Udon and Poached Egg, Gyouza

Stir-fry with udon noodles and a poached egg.

Stir-fry with udon noodles and a poached egg.

No special recipe here, actually. Stir-fry is one of those meals that I can just throw together without too much thought or effort. I usually do rice, but this time I had some extra udon noodles in the pantry and decided to use them. In the freezer, I had prepped bags of edamame and corn, so all I had to do was roughly shred a couple carrots and precook the udon before stir-frying the veggies with some sesame oil, mirin, and ponzu sauce. Geordie wanted a little bit of meat to go with it all, so I opened up our bag of frozen gyouza and cooked up some of those (probably Hannah’s favorite part of the meal – she loves her some gyouza). I topped it all off with a poached egg, which added a nice bit of moisture with the runny yolk. Stir-fry is always a winner in this house, and this one was no exception.

 

Tuesday
Salmon with Pesto (from The Kitchy Kitchen), Israeli Couscous with Roasted Cauliflower and Olives

Salmon with cashew pesto and Israeli couscous with roasted cauliflower and olives.

Salmon with cashew pesto and Israeli couscous with roasted cauliflower and olives.

The original pesto was made with pistachios, but I only had cashews so that’s what I used. And it was still awesome. Geordie has a basil plant that he’s been nursing for over a year now, and it’s been doing extremely well. So well that it provided the cup of basil needed for the pesto. Whenever I make a dinner that involves pesto, I always think about making it myself, but I’d never done it until now. This is definitely one of those things where it’s really hard to go back to storebought after you’ve made it at home. It’s just so much fresher and tastier – it’s like the pestoiest pesto there could ever be. And it takes all of five minutes to make. Hannah liked the salmon, but we did not give her any pesto because she’s having some skin reactions to nut oils. As for the couscous, it was just okay. Roasted cauliflower is always nice, and we prefer Israeli couscous over the regular kind, so that worked out fine. But the olives were a bit weird. Hannah adores the couscous, but she picked around the cauliflower. She tries it every once in a while, so at least she’s still willing to give it a go. She’s just not overly fond of it.

 

Thursday
Kale and Artichoke Dip (from Tablespoon) with homemade bread

Kale and Artichoke Dip with turkey.

Kale and Artichoke Dip with turkey.

Sometimes I like to take appetizers or side dishes and turn them into main dish meals. I accomplished that by adding shredded turkey to this, and it turned into a surprising success. Especially with Hannah. She was very reluctant to try it at first, but once Geordie got the first bite into her, she inhaled the rest of what was on her plate. She also ate it for leftovers for two days. It was a very hearty dip, made even more so by the added turkey, so it ended up being a very nice meal for a winter’s evening. The bread went nicely with it, but it also did well with some plain tortilla chips. Kale is not my favorite thing to eat, so I wouldn’t call this the best thing we ate all week, but it was certainly better than I had expected it to be.

 

Friday
Pork Chops, Cabbage, and Apples (from My Recipes)

Pork with Cabbage and Apples.

Pork with Cabbage and Apples.

This was one of those meals that was just okay the first time but could probably be improved upon in some way to make it better the next time. The pork was, by itself, awesome – very flavorful and cooked just right, juicy and tender. The only thing I would have changed about it would be to marinate it in the mustard mixture longer. As for the cabbage and apples, they were on the bitter side. I actually think that was because of the beer I used. Next time, I think I’d use apple cider or apple juice mixed with some chicken broth or something. Or, heck, maybe even just a different beer. And another apple. One wasn’t quite enough; it got lost among all the cabbage. But Hannah happily ate a good-sized helping, and it was pretty tasty with the pork. With a little work, it could be one of our winter staples.

 

Sunday
Orange-Miso Steak (from Steamy Kitchen) and Roasted Kabocha and Mushrooms (from La Fuji Mama)

Orange-Miso Steak with Roasted Kabocha and Mushrooms.

Orange-Miso Steak with Roasted Kabocha and Mushrooms.

Wow. Just wow. There’s not a whole lot more to say about this except that it was sensational. I’d bought a kabocha (a Japanese pumpkin) a week or two earlier without really thinking about what I wanted to do with it, and then I remembered this amazing dish from one of my favorite Japanese food bloggers. I still had miso in my fridge from the last time I made carrot and miso soup, so I thought I’d give this steak sauce a try. Geordie could not stop raving about the steak, which was incredibly flavorful. Hannah could not stop eating the kabocha. In fact, I tried to split the leftovers with her the next day, and she stole most of mine from my plate. This was a perfect dinner for a cold Sunday evening; working with kabocha does take a bit of time, but it was so definitely worth the effort. I’m hoping I get to make this one more time before the end of winter. If not, I’ll definitely be saving it for next year and the next time I can get my hands on a kabocha.

