Monday
Cheesy Eggplant Lasagna (from The Biggest Loser Cookbook)

eggplantlas

I don’t know why I thought this recipe would be a good idea. Probably because it was on hand and looked simple enough. It was not simple. It took forever to put together, it made a mess of the kitchen, and then it took forever to cook. Also, that “cheesy” in the title is exceedingly misleading. It was not “cheesy.” Whoever thought this was cheesy has a very limited view of what “cheesy” is (for example, someone from The Biggest Loser, so I’m not really surprised). The only thing that saved this dish was that I made it. Seriously. I seasoned the eggplant to our tastes, and I made the marinara sauce myself. Also, I used full-fat mozzarella because I’m a rebel that way. I also added some spaghetti, because this dish cries out for a starch. I’d feel that way even if I wasn’t pregnant and craving carbs almost-constantly. If I’d been thinking properly, I would have noted to buy more mushrooms, because this was woefully lacking in mushrooms. I will happily make eggplant lasagna again – because it is delicious – but I won’t be using this recipe again.

 

Tuesday
Taco Salad

No pic of this, because it’s basically the same thing as we had a couple weeks ago. All that frozen taco meat, you know. This is becoming one of my favorite things to make because it is so darn simple and requires very little effort on my part. Frozen taco meat is the best thing ever.

 

Thursday
Steak and Sweet Potato Grits (from Kitchen Parade)

Thought I had a picture of this one, but I guess not. The steak was done simply, just in a cast-iron skillet on the stove. The sweet potato grits made a nice accompaniment, very creamy and full of flavor. Had lots left over, and it made for a pretty good breakfast over the next couple of days. Very nice comfort food, and so easy to do in the crockpot!

 

Friday
Roasted Curry Chicken Thighs (from Claire Robinson), served with pita chips and hummus

chicken

Tasty – very flavorful, indeed, if curry is your thing. Quick and easy to make, and on the lighter side. Went very well with hummus and the pita chips and a bit of Greek yogurt.

