I don’t have my notes for this week anymore, so I really don’t remember what we were eating or when! I only have my pictures to go by, along with some estimations. I’ll do my best! I only seem to have documented three days, though I’m pretty sure I made four meals. That doesn’t mean much – the fourth meal was probably something simple and recipe-less. I just have no idea what it was.

 

Sunday
Roast Chicken for “Lazy People” (from Around My French Table)

lazypeoplechicken

I’ve made this classic Dorie recipe before, and, yeah, it’s my favorite roast chicken recipe. How can it not be? Everything goes into the Dutch oven, the Dutch oven goes into the oven, and I don’t have to do anything else. I do have to pick the chicken afterwards, but that means leftovers for another dinner and the protein is already cooked. Also, this is so simple and so delicious that it’s impossible not to love it. The bread that the chicken sits on while it cooks is easily the best part of this meal – I could eat that every day of the week and still be happy.

 

Monday
Chicken Enchiladas (from Don’t Panic: Dinner’s in the Freezer)

chickenenchilada

Here’s where Sunday’s leftover chicken found new life. Enough for three meals, no less. This took some prep work, but the nice thing is that I have two meals sitting in the freezer, ready to be reheated and eaten. All I’ll have to do is prep some avocado, tomatoes, and sour cream. Easy. And tasty, fortunately. This is the kind of stuff I’m hoping to have in ample supply by the time December rolls around. I made a few changes to the original recipe, which called for onions and peppers (of course). I took those out and added in some fresh corn off the cob. Definitely a winner. I bet this would be just as good with a classic red enchilada sauce instead of the cheese sauce. Something to try in the future.

 

Thursday
Mongolian Beef (from Your Home-Based Mom) and brown rice

mongolianbeef

I expected more from this dish. This is usually what I order when we go out to Pei Wei when we’re craving Asian food, and I was hoping for a recipe that could compare. This didn’t. The beef didn’t come out with that restaurant-quality crunchiness I wanted. It tasted okay, but it wasn’t very exciting. I added mushrooms and snow peas to it, and though they probably improved the dish overall, they didn’t make it fantastic. I like making homemade “take-out,” but this one isn’t going to be a repeat. I’ll have to keep looking, I guess.

