Since learning that Niko is a girl, we’ve been on the hunt for girl names that we both agree on. There have been some that I liked that Geordie didn’t and vice versa. There have been some that we both liked but didn’t sound great with our last name. There have been some that we were okay with but not really sold on. And there have been many, many that we absolutely did not like.

There are some really bad names out there. I know that how a name sounds to you is totally individual preference, but seriously, there are some bad names out there. I know there are plenty of names that I, personally, don’t like but could understand others liking them. But there are some that I couldn’t imagine calling a child. Just because you can name your child anything you want doesn’t mean you should.

But anyway. These are names for our child, our Niko, and that’s what matters. It’s just weird to be having such a hard time with it. We decided on Lauren’s name very early on in the pregnancy, long before we knew she was a she. Coming into this pregnancy, we had a boy’s name picked out, but no girl’s name. One of the reasons I was hoping for a boy, because I knew it wouldn’t be easy to pick a girl’s name. When I was pregnant with Lauren, we’d had a tough time deciding on a boy’s name, which was one reason I was so glad she was a girl! Strange how it works out.

Geordie has spent the last two weeks going through my baby name book (which I bought back when I was about 14 or so, because writers are almost always interested in names, I find – I probably should have explained that to the woman who sold it to me). When he came across a name he liked, he shared it with me. Thus, we have come up with a short list of possible name choices for Niko.

And it is a short list. In no particular order:

Eleanor Jane
Madelyn Jane
Hannah Jane

So, the middle name was the easy part. It’s Geordie’s mother’s middle name, and it goes with everything. There is also the possibility of using the variant “Jaynee,” which would be a combination of Geordie’s father’s name and the name of his aunt who passed away last year. It’s an unusual spelling, which I normally would not consider, but because we have a decent reasoning for it, it’s in the running.

And that’s as far as we’ve got. I must admit that I’m now most unsure about Eleanor, which was my front runner for a while. I really like the nickname Nellie. Geordie is not so keen on it and prefers Ellie, which I do not like. But I still like Eleanor. Madelyn and Hannah are also growing on me now, too, and Geordie is still thinking about what his preferences are. Of course, there’s always the chance that another name will present itself to us and suddenly become a favorite.

At least we’ve made progress! It might be December before we come to a decision, but at least we’ve got a few options to mull over now, when before it was just randomly grabbing names and throwing them at each other to see what stuck. We’ll just have to wait and see what’s still sticking over the next couple of months.

