Monday
Spinach Salad with Pork Milanese (from Food Network Magazine, September 2013)

spinachmilanese

This is the first week in a long time that I have wanted fresh spinach (the appeal immediately vanished after Wednesday, so I guess the body got what it needed). It could have been because I had picked up the magazine on Saturday and I really liked the look of this salad. It’s a warm salad, so that helped. The tomatoes are cooked just a bit and then dumped over the spinach, which wilts it just enough. Pork milanese is so incredibly easy to make, I don’t know why I don’t do it more often. The meat cooked up nicely tender and juicy; there were no complaints with this one. Easy, fast, and tasty.

 

Tuesday
Turkey Breast Cutlets with Raspberries (from Around My French Table) and Israeli Couscous with Spinach and Tomatoes

turkeyraspberry

Not much else I can say about this that I didn’t say on Friday. The sauce was great, and I want more of it. Israeli couscous is one of my favorite sides, it’s just so easy to make, you can add whatever to it, and I like it so much better than regular couscous. With this one, I kept it on low heat after it was done cooking, added some spinach and tomatoes and stirred it up a bit to get the veggies warm and wilted. Drizzled on a little olive oil and raspberry-flavored balsamic vinegar, and done. Went quite well with the meat and sauce, but it was pretty good on its own too.

 

Wednesday
Roasted Tofu and Peanut Noodle Salad (from Eating Well Magazine, July/August 2013)

roastedtofunoods

I really like cooking with tofu, and I should really do it more often. The trick is doing something interesting with it, which is not always easy to do. This worked – quite well, in fact. I omitted the bell pepper and added carrots, and I added a little honey to the sauce, but those were the only changes I made. Actually, this would probably be really good with soba noodles, but whole wheat spaghetti works fine too. What’s great about this is that the only real cooking involved is the roasting of the tofu and the boiling of the spaghetti, and those can be done at the same time to minimize time spent at the stove. It’s a tasty dish, with the savoriness of the marinade and the sweetness of the snow peas and carrots. A good summer dish.

 

Thursday
Chicken Parmesan and Steamed Veggies

chickenparm

This is one of those go-to meals that I keep on hand for when I don’t want to have to think too much about what I’m doing. Buttermilk-marinated chicken is coated with (whole-wheat) panko and Parmesan, topped with mozzarella, and baked until cooked through. Plus a little broiling to get some color on the mozzarella. Heat up some homemade tomato sauce from the fridge, zap a bag of mixed veggies, and done. I didn’t even bother with pasta, although I suppose that wouldn’t have taken up much more time. Honestly, I make chicken parmesan for the crunchy coating and the mozzarella, not the pasta. Plus, I figure I’m getting enough carbs from the panko. It all works out.

