Sunday
Molasses-Glazed Pork Tenderloin with Sweet Potatoes (from Simple Weeknight Favorites)

molassespork

May 18th was our second anniversary. I wanted to make something nice for us without having to spend too much time cooking in the kitchen. This dish seems like it would be a fuss to make, but it wasn’t. The pork tenderloin is marinated in a molasses-lime juice mixture while sweet potatoes and carrots are roasted in more molasses and juice in the oven. The pork and marinade are added to the roasting dish and cooked to the appropriate temperature. The result is a juicy, tender roast with a subtle molasses flavor. We enjoyed this a great deal, especially since it required very little effort on my part. Many of the recipes from this book are the same: delicious and deceptively simple.

 

Monday
Tomato, Basil, and Three-Cheese Ravioli with Bolognese Sauce and Baked Zucchini Fries (from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures)

raviolizukes

Mondays are rough days, usually. So, we ate the remainder of the ravioli we had last week. For the veg, I baked up these zucchini fries, which require little more than cutting up the zukes and breading them. Very simple and quite tasty. Usually, I make a sour cream and Parmesan dip for the zucchini, but I figured that the bolognese sauce would work just as well. And it did.

 

Tuesday
Paris Mushroom Soup (from Around My French Table)

parismushrooms

The French Friday recipe this week was supposed to be an asparagus soup. Until recently, I always liked the sound of that asparagus soup. Now, I can’t stomach the idea of it. But I did like the idea of having soup. I settled on this soup, which the FFwD group made a while ago. It’s not the prettiest soup, but it was easy to make and tasted great. Mushrooms are one of my absolute favorite things to eat, and mushroom soup is one of my favorite ways to eat them. This was really quite nice.

 

Thursday
Baked Beans (from Alton Brown), Sour Cream Cornbread (from Country Cooking), and Steamed Spinach

bakedbeans

I had a craving for baked beans. It happens. I decided to make that the protein of the meal and supplemented it with some cornbread and spinach. I wasn’t thrilled with the spinach, but I knew I needed the greens. I ate them first to make sure I got them into me. The cornbread was okay, but I think it would have been better if I’d left out the rosemary. That was really not necessary, and it didn’t really jive with the rest of the meal. Also, I’m not a big fan of adding things to cornbread, even if it’s something as simple as rosemary. I prefer my cornbread to just be cornbread. That tends to go better with baked beans anyway. I really like these beans: a little sweet, a little savory, definitely full of flavor. The only bad thing about them is that I have to smell them cooking all day long! They stay in the oven 6-7 hours, and oh, do they smell good!

