Nausea settled in this week. It’s really hard to make dinner when just looking at raw veggies and meat makes you want to gag. I’ve been craving carbs and dairy products all this week, with meat coming in not far behind. Green vegetables were at the bottom of my list. Fatigue has also made cooking dinner something that’s hard to get excited about. But, I did manage a few.

 

Sunday
Creamy Crockpot Chicken Pasta (from Momma Hen’s Kitchen) and Spinach Salad with Balsamic Vinegar

creamychickenpasta

Anything made in the crockpot is going to be a winner for me right now. This was incredibly easy to do. The only real problem with it is that it really needs some veggies. We settled on a spinach salad, but we agreed that some real mushrooms would have been great added to the chicken (the recipe calls for a can of cream of mushroom soup, and I’d hardly call those real mushrooms). Geordie also thought some asparagus would be good, and I think that would certainly be interesting to try. Instead of Cajun seasoning, I used some cayenne and paprika for the seasoning, and that was fine. I’d make this again, with a few adjustments. It seems to me that it would be very kid-friendly and good for a comfort-food dinner on a cool evening.

 

Monday
Pearl Couscous Salad with Chickpeas & Artichokes (from EatingWell Serves Two)

pearlcouscoussalad

I was not excited about eating this, but I figured I should. I ended up making some changes – for starters, it was supposed to be an orzo salad, but I already had pearl couscous in the pantry, so I wanted to use that rather than buying something new. Instead of flavoring the salad with dill and mint, I used a little cumin and some za’atar, which were way more complementary, in my opinion. I also added more than the suggested teaspoon of oil and a little more lemon juice. This was incredibly dry without it. Ultimately, we both liked it, but I really could have done without the chickpeas. Normally, I love chickpeas, but they did not go very well in this salad. I wouldn’t mind making this again in the summer – it was served room temp and would be good a little chilled – but I’ll use a different protein. Tofu, I think, would be pretty good.

 

Tuesday
Old-Time Buttermilk Pie (from Taste of Home)

buttermilkpie

Okay, that’s not what we had for dinner. But it’s the only thing I made. I didn’t feel like cooking anything for dinner, so we just ordered a pizza. Such is the life of a pregnant woman sometimes. I had originally planned to make a shrimp and asparagus quiche, but I had gotten the shrimp out to prepare them, and that was it, I was done. I couldn’t stand looking at them. I already had the pie crust ready to go, so I just decided to make a pie instead. I had some buttermilk that needed to be used up, so this worked perfectly. This is such an old-fashioned type of pie, and I love it. The quarter-cup of lemon juice gives it a flavor reminiscent of lemon curd, but with a tang from the buttermilk. Very nice.

 

Thursday
Beef Tenderloin, Sauteed Mushrooms, and Spinach Pancakes (from Around My French Table)

steakpancakes

Steak isn’t my first choice right now. I like my steak rare. Like, really rare. This is not good for pregnant ladies. I can’t stand an over-cooked steak, but blood isn’t what pregnant ladies need. But, we’ve got all this steak in the freezer still, and I really wanted some beef. It’s good meat; even though it was over-cooked (in my opinion), it was still pretty juicy and tender. Nothing to complain about. Plus, the mushrooms were awesome, the spinach pancakes were tasty, and the overall fat content of the meal was relatively low. This was probably my favorite dinner of the week.

Although that delivery pizza was a very close second.

