Pregnancy does weird things to a woman’s appetite. Sometimes it takes it away completely so that all you can stand to choke down are Saltines and ginger ale. Sometimes it causes the development of cravings and aversions. Sometimes you’re just hungry and it doesn’t matter what you stuff in your face. For me, personally, I’m mostly just hungry. I’ve had one or two days when I was nauseated all day long and ate only the mildest things I could find in the fridge. Hummus works quite well, especially if I got lightly on the garlic and lemon. The potato and carrot mash that shows up for dinner once a month is also easy to get down and keep down. Also: pancakes. I need to be making more pancakes. Mostly, though, I’m more affected by fatigue. My stomach has its ups and downs, but I’m tired all the time. I took a nap every day this week. It’s not been as bad as the time when I was pregnant with Lauren and slept a total of 18 hours in a 24 hour period. But it’s early yet. What it means for now is that I need to make sure I only plan to cook quick and easy meals. I can’t handle standing on my feet in the kitchen for two hours anymore, and I know it’s just going to get worse. I still want to cook though, because I still want to be in charge of what I’m putting into my body, it’s just that I need to keep in mind that I can’t do marathon cooking for a while!

 

Monday
Chicken & Sweet Potato Stew (from EatingWell One Pot Meals)

chickensweetpotatostew

This is exactly the kind of meal I need to be making from now on. Anything made in the crockpot is a good thing. It’s not the prettiest thing to look at, but it was definitely tasty, especially with a couple slices of homemade wheat bread. Very simple and actually pretty healthy too. I’ll be keeping this one in mind for fall meals! A very nice comfort food dish.

 

Tuesday
Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes (from The Baker Chick)

pumpkingbuttermilk

I love cupcakes, and I love pancakes. The difference is that I don’t love making pancakes. Maybe once I get a proper griddle, I’ll like making pancakes more. Having to flip them in a frying pan is annoying. We ate these with bacon and apple slices, and it was awesome. I got way more than twelve pancakes (more like twenty), and that’s what I had for breakfast the rest of the week. Even more awesome. I really enjoyed these. Pancakes are pretty easy to make, so this is something else I should plan for more often. Especially since Geordie does the bacon-frying!

 

Wednesday
Cod & Spinach Roulade and Asparagus & Bits of Bacon (from Around My French Table)

codroulades

I’ve already said all I can say about this. Next time, I’ll just take a fillet of fish and wrap it up with the spinach filling and bake it or something. I think that’s all that really needs to be done. Interesting to try, but not worth the payoff.

 

Thursday
Meatballs in Mushrooms Sauce (from Kayotic Kitchen) and Sweet Potato-Carrot Mash

meatballsmushrooms

I really wanted to like this, but this was a day when I was queasy all day long. The potato-carrot mash was terrific, and I need to just have that in my fridge all the time for the next eight months. The mushroom sauce was terrific, but the meatballs were way too salty. I ate two of mine and couldn’t handle any more than that. Other than that, they were also very tasty, so I wouldn’t have a problem making them again – just with less salt! Geordie didn’t like the meatballs and mushrooms served on top of the potato-carrot mash, and I’ll admit, it wasn’t fantastic. I thought it was okay, though. Regular potatoes would have been better. Something to keep in mind for next time!

