Sunday
Roasted Ham and Spinach Salad with Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette (from Food Network Magazine)

The worst picture of an Easter dinner ever.

The worst picture of an Easter dinner ever.

You know what? Ham’s not really my thing. I try to get excited about it, but when it comes right down to it, meh. I’d rather have pork tenderloin. Geordie enjoyed it though, so I guess it was worth it. He also liked the roasted garlic vinaigrette better, but my problem was the texture/consistency. I think the recipe called for too much olive oil; it separated from the rest of the vinaigrette and pooled on top. I ended up having to pour a lot of it off to make it palatable. Otherwise, it was fine. It was a pretty simple Easter dinner, but since it was just the two of us, it was exactly what we needed.

 

Monday
BBQ-Sauce Meatloaf (from the Great Meat Cookbook) and Sweet Potato & Carrot Mash

meatloaf

I’ve been making meatballs a lot, so I wanted to do something different, and thus ended up with this meatloaf. Delicious. And with three-quarters of a pound of ground beef, three-quarters of a pound of ground turkey, and one-quarter of a pound of bacon, it’s a very meaty meal. The recommended serving yield was 4-6; I think 8 is more realistic. We still have a little bit left in the fridge, but it makes for very good leftovers, so that’s okay. It also went nicely with my potato-carrot mash, which I made with sweet potatoes this time around because sweet potatoes are way tastier than regular ol’ potatoes. In addition, I learned from this meatloaf that I do not like sriracha. I had never had it before, but the recipe called for mixing equal parts BBQ sauce and sriracha. I had a little taste of sriracha and used a quarter of what was called for. It was still too much; fortunately, not so much that I couldn’t eat the meatloaf. But now I know: I’m going to have this bottle of sriracha forever because I can’t stand the way it tastes. And next time I make this meatloaf, it’s going to be all BBQ sauce.

 

Tuesday
leftover BBQ-Sauce Meatloaf and Bulgur-Stuffed Veggies (from Ten Dollar Dinners)

bulgurstuffedveggies

We had so much meatloaf left over, that I ditched my meat dish for the night (chicken) and served meatloaf again. Just as tasty the second time around. Let’s talk about the veggies. I made this mostly (solely) because I wanted to use up the small bit of bulgur I had sitting in the pantry. Eating this, I was reminded of why it had been sitting there for almost three months: I’m not a big fan of bulgur. This was just okay. I wouldn’t make it again with bulgur. Maybe with couscous or barley. But not bulgur. In fact, I doubt I’ll be buying bulgur again. Not that it was terrible, it just wasn’t great. Geordie liked the tomato best, but I liked the zucchini better. But still. The bulgur was unimpressive, and it definitely needed more salt and pepper. Meh.

 

Wednesday
Creamy Artichoke & Spinach Soup (from EatingWell Serves 2) and homemade bread

spinachartichokesoup

Um. I don’t quite know what to say about this soup. First, the servings were huge. Second, the dill was a little strong. Third, it was soooo thick. If I’d spooned in some cream cheese and sprinkled some Parmesan on top, we could have called this a dip instead of a soup. It really needed some bread with it. The fresh bread I’d made was good, but croutons or crostini would have been better. It was good, but I wouldn’t make it again. The next time I’m craving  the artichoke-and-spinach combo, I’ll just go ahead and made a (healthy) dip and serve that as dinner. This was basically the same thing, it was just missing something. On the plus side, it was quite healthy: lots of spinach and artichoke, brown rice, eggs, and no fats except for the butter on the bread. I just really wish we’d liked the soup better. Oh, well.

 

Friday
Steak Quesadillas with Mushrooms & Avocado

quesadilla

This is one of those few instances where I eschew a recipe. It’s a quesadilla, there’s really no need to get technical. Some mashed avocado goes onto half a tortilla, followed by a little cheese, a few slices of cooked steak, some sauteed mushrooms, and a little more cheese. After a few minutes of cooking in the pan, the quesadilla is flipped and cooked a few minutes more. Done. Top with a little sour cream and chopped tomato. Eat! This was quite tasty, a nice payoff for something so simple to make. It was a little on the small side for Geordie (I gave him the lion’s share of meat to make up for it), but it was the perfect size for me. Quesadillas are always nice because you can make ’em how you like ’em, usually with whatever you’ve got on hand. I’ll be trying to make more of these in the future when we have busy days. These make such a nice meal to throw together quickly and easily.

