Not the healthiest of weeks! Oh, well. Better luck next week. We can’t always be good, but we can always keep trying!

 

Saturday
Beef with Mushrooms and Pearl Couscous (from Cooking Season by Season)

beefanddmushrooms

Honestly, I haven’t got much to say about this one. It’s another beef stew recipe. It was better than the last one I made (the ale stew with the mustard cobbler topping), but it certainly wasn’t better than the daubes I made from Around My French Table. Part of the problem, I think, is that I used very lean beef stew meat. Healthy but not all that flavorful. It probably should have cooked a little longer to get the meat a little more tender. Geordie wondered what it would be like with portobello mushrooms, which isn’t a bad idea. The flavor of the sauce was good, and the couscous and mushrooms were quite tasty. Not too bad, especially for what’s likely to be the last beef stew dish of this season.

 

Sunday
Lemon Asparagus Pasta (from EatingWell Serves Two)

lemonasparaguspasta

What’s this? Two weekend meals? Normally, we have leftovers on either Saturday or Sunday. But this past week, we didn’t have that many leftovers hanging out in the fridge. Only half a pound of asparagus. Fortunately, I had a back-up plan. This was perfect for using up the extra asparagus and otherwise used items I always have hanging out in the pantry and fridge. It was also really fast and easy to make. And quite tasty! For the sauce, I subbed buttermilk for the milk (because I was out of milk, but I never seem to be out of buttermilk), but it had no ill effects. The lemon was definitely a dominating flavor, but I liked that. It might have been a bit too much for Geordie (he kept commenting on it), but he practically inhaled it, so it must not have been too bad. His only criticism was that it needed some chicken. I thought it was fine meatless, but I could see how a little chicken would be nice. It was a very filling meal without being at all heavy, and with the lemon and asparagus, it bridged the winter-spring gap quite nicely.

 

Monday
Orange-Scented Lentil Soup (from Around My French Table) and homemade whole wheat bread

lentil soup

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, this one was interesting. I had no expectations of it, but I was pleased with what I got. It was surprisingly good, and it’s definitely something I would consider making again. It’s also helped me feel a little more positive about cooking with lentils, which is something I’d never done before. And it also made lentils more attractive to Geordie, so really, there’s nothing to complain about here!

 

Tuesday
Marsala Chicken with Pine Nuts & Golden Raisins (from Cooking Season by Season) and mashed potatoes and carrots

marsalachicken

This was actually a little disappointing. For a sauce comprised entirely of Marsala wine, it really didn’t have much flavor to it. The pine nuts and raisins tasted awesome (especially with the carrots that cooked along with the meat and sauce), and the chicken was tender and juicy. But the sauce tasted of nothing. It’s not going to be a repeat. As for the potatoes and carrots, that’s something I’ve done lots of times before and have always enjoyed. Plus, a pound of carrots and a pound-and-a-half of potatoes makes for a lot of leftovers. With a little cheese and hot sauce, it makes for a darn good lunch.

 

Thursday
Tomato Pie

tomatopie

Oh, heavens, what a wonderful thing! Maybe I’m a little loony for wanting a tomato pie when it’s not even spring yet, but when I started thinking about pies for Pi Day (3/14, natch), I knew I wanted a savory pie. And then I remembered this pie, which Geordie’s Aunt Lynne had made for us last year. Although I had heard of tomato pie, a classic Southern dish, I had never had any before. Tomato pies come in many variations, but this is as simple as they get. I won’t say much more about it because I’m planning on writing a blog post for it next week. It is delicious. It is wonderful. But with two cups of cheeses and one cup of mayo (even reduced fat olive oil mayo), it is not a healthy dish. I can’t wait to make it again once summer comes around!

