Finally, February is coming to a close. It wasn’t a terrible month, but I’m glad it’s coming to an end. I’m ready for spring.

Last week was a bit of a busy one, as most 4-day weeks are. I got the car inspected and registered for Texas, which was the last thing to do before getting my Texas driver’s license. I intend to try to get that done on Friday.

Yuzu is recovering from a kitty-cold. He started sneezing on Wednesday – cute little kitten sneezes that always seemed to surprise him. It hasn’t slowed him down much, and it hasn’t turned him into too much of a snot monster, so it doesn’t seem to be serious. He’s not sneezing as much today, so I’m hoping he’s getting over it. Mirin has showed no signs of having caught it; we’ll see if that lasts.

We got our tax refund, which will allow us to do a few things that need to be done – namely, painting the room that will (with any luck) become a nursery in time. At the moment, it is a most brilliant hot pink color. I thought I had a picture of it, but there doesn’t seem to be one on my computer. Maybe Geordie has one. Anyway, it’s pink. And not a soft, girly pink but an in-your-face pink. It’s aggressively pink. We wouldn’t have rented the house if the landlord hadn’t given permission to paint over all that pink (did I mention the baseboards are black?)

So, we’ve been talking about what colors we want in the room. At the moment, we’ve agreed on a light green as the main color, with orange and yellow as accenting colors. We’re not 100% sure yet. We do know for certain that we want colors that are bright but still soothing and that are gender neutral.

And to close the post, here is a picture of a kitten. I was finally able to move the living room litter box into the foyer, which lest us with an open space, so we decided to get another scratching post/tower toy for the kittens (because they still like to use the couch every so often). It has a nice bed on top, which is a bonus. Mirin has pretty much claimed it for herself.

mirinsbed

