I was going to write a long, wordy post about mid-winter and the special days that go with it (Groundhog’s Day, Imbolc, Brighid’s Day, Setsubun), but I decided against it. I’m not feeling February at all this year.

So, in the spirit of writing about food, here’s what I made for dinner for Imbolc:

Osso Buco with carrots and tomatoes on a bed of parmesan risotto. Beautiful and so, so delicious.

Osso Buco with carrots and tomatoes on a bed of parmesan risotto. Beautiful and so, so delicious. I had to make it with regular old beef shank because it would be a week before anybody could get veal shank in, but it still turned out wonderful.

Chocolate-pear custard tart.

Chocolate-pear custard tart for dessert.

Both the osso buco and the chocolate-pear tart recipes came from the Cooking Season by Season cookbook, while the parmesan risotto recipe came from Anne Burrell’s Cook Like a Rock Star. Definitely the best meal I made all week. It was monstrously good to eat, and the leftovers have been just as awesome.

So, while I am not keen on February, we welcomed it with a truly wonderful dinner, and that makes me happy. Better to put forth the effort than to give up all together. I’ll keep doing the best I can.

But I’ll still be happy when February’s over.

