I meant to write a real post today, but it just didn’t happen. For one thing, I didn’t really know what I wanted to talk about. I’ve got a lot of half-finished thoughts floating about, but nothing even remotely organized or focused. Just some jumbly thoughts. If I’d just sat in front of the computer all day, I might have been able to come up with something.

Instead I went out to lunch with someone who I’m coming to think of as a friend. We had a mediocre meal at a Japanese restaurant and chatted for two hours, then we left to go to a Starbucks for another two hours of chatting. And that was good. It’s the first time I’ve spent the majority of the day outside of the house in a long, long time. I needed that, especially considering how gloomy February can be for me – even before the month begins. It’s nice to get out of the house and be sociable, not just running errands and getting stuff done. And though I love my husband dearly and never get tired of his presence, it’s nice to have someone to talk to other than him sometimes.

So, it was a quiet day, but not a lonely day. I can’t complain about that.

