Winter marches steadily on, but, to be honest, it doesn’t much feel like winter. We’ve had the AC on most of the week. The high for today is 77°F, and that’s not even the highest forecasted temp for this week. It seems unfitting for this last week of January, a week that will take us into February, which I consider the coldest and grayest month of the year. The dark before the dawn of spring.

I haven’t been much of a mood to do anything recently. I play the Sims. I play with the kittens. I haven’t done much baking this month, but I’m already working on changing that. I’m doing carrot cupcakes tomorrow, then a chocolate and pear tart for Imbolc at the end of the week. Also, foccacia for next week’s Tuesdays with Dorie. So at least I’ll be busy in the kitchen this week.

I’m also hoping to finally go to the Social Security Office and get the ball rolling for my name change. After almost two years of marriage, it’s about time, right? We’ll see how that goes. Once I get that done, I can start on getting a Texas license, and the car registered, and all that other fun stuff that I should’ve gotten done ages ago. Well, better late than never.

And that’s about it. Nothing very exciting has been happening recently. Just waiting for winter to be over. As usual.

And now, enjoy a picture of two sleepy kittens.

sleepykittens

