Today is a Tuesdays with Dorie make-up day, and because I have a lot to catch up on, I wanted to take advantage of it. I had lemons just sitting around in my fridge and doing nothing but drying up, so I figured I’d use them in this nice loaf-cake.

lemonloafcake

It got a little darker and harder than I wanted on top, but it was baked perfectly inside, so I’m not going to complain. As important as pretty is, it’s never going to be The Most Important Thing.

I haven’t really got much to say about this cake. It’s a cinch to make. Yes, it bakes for about an hour, but lots of loaf-cakes are like that, so no big deal. Once the ingredients are all prepped, it only takes about ten minutes to mix it all together. It requires a bit of a light hand to avoid over-mixing, but it’s just a matter of dealing gently with the batter rather that beating the hell out of it. The hardest part was zesting the three lemons.

lemonzest

Really, though, it wasn’t that bad. It could have been worse. Yesterday, while trying to open a box of Borax with a pair of scissors, I cut a chunk of flesh off the tip of my right ring finger. I’m still not sure how I managed to do it. It drastically changed my baking plans for the day. I worried about dealing with lemons and getting lemon juice where I didn’t want lemon juice, so I decided to wait until this morning to make the loaf-cake. Fortunately, the recipe only required zesting the lemons, and I made through without inflicting any undue pain upon myself.

If only I could bring myself to do the dishes. I’ve got three very nice, zested lemons I need to send through the garbage disposal to make it smell better. Not that it smells terrible, but I like a lemon-fresh garbage disposal. It makes me happy, and it’s a good incentive for doing dishes.

Even though I am trying to eat healthy (really and truly – I didn’t even have any of the chocolate-peanut butter cupcakes I made over the weekend), I had a piece of this cake for lunch. Because it was such a thin slice, I figured I wasn’t doing too much damage to myself.

It was okay. Not terrific. It was lighter than I expected it to be, and the crust was crunchier than I expected it to be. But the crumb was soft and tender, and I think it would have gone really well with coffee or tea. That’s the kind of loaf-cake it is: light, delicate, just a tiny bit rich. The lemon flavor is present but very subtle. It’s not a “burst in your mouth” flavor experience, but the lemon does meld well with the rest of the cake, so it works out. It’s not dominating.

It’s not the best thing I’ve made from the Baking with Julia book, but it’s tasty enough, and it will serve nicely as breakfast for the week. Because it’s so akin to pound cake, it might actually get better over the next couple of days. We’ll see.

There’s not much going on at Tuesdays with Dorie this week. For next week, we’ll be making a French Apple Tart, which sounds very nice to me! Happy baking!

