I don’t see how it’s possible to dislike these crackers. If you don’t like cheese, maybe you won’t like these (although, really, I don’t see how it’s possible to dislike cheese, but there are such people out there). But I love cheese, and I’ve recently become enamored of Gruyere, which is what I used to make these.

I’ve tried something like this in the past – cheddar pennies, they were called, or something like that. That ended terribly, as I recall. Everything melted into a puddle of goo and then burned to a crisp. I have, since then, learned to watch the oven, but I don’t think a pile of goo is any more appetizing than crispy-burnt crackers.

These, thankfully, turned out much better.

Personally, I hate Cheez-its. They are the worst of the cheese crackers, in my opinion. They have a weird chemical taste. It’s how I would expect cheese crackers to taste if there was not actual cheese in the cracker. I have no idea if Cheez-its have real cheese in them or not. They taste like they don’t, and that’s all that matters to me.

These taste the way Cheez-its would taste if you made them yourself and put real food in them. In other words, they taste the way Cheez-its should taste. They’re crunchy and flaky and give you a nice burst of cheese flavor when you bite into them. None of that chalky texture that you get with Cheez-its. These little crackers make for a nice little snack.

And – no surprise – they’re easy to make. They do take a bit of time with the rolling and the baking, but the nice thing is that you can make the dough ahead of time, stick it in the fridge, then pull it out when you’ve got time. They bake for about 15 minutes, which gives you enough time to cut out more crackers, so it’s not that time consuming. Unless you’re like me and you’re trying to eat dinner, frost cupcakes, and bring order to the kitchen at the same time. Then it takes you a little bit longer.

Ingredients, assemble! This is all it takes. Cheese and butter and seasonings go in and get pulsed. Then the flour joins the party. It forms a dry but pliable dough.

Ingredients, assemble! This is all it takes. Cheese and butter and seasonings go in and get pulsed. Then the flour joins the party. It forms a dry but pliable dough.

The dough is split, and each half is formed into a disk. They go into the fridge to chill out a bit - for at least an hour and up to three days. Here's the first disk ready for rolling.

The dough is split, and each half is formed into a disk. They go into the fridge to chill out a bit – for at least an hour and up to three days. Here’s the first disk ready for rolling.

The dough gets rolled thin, and then you cut out circles. I used a shot glass. Perfect!

The dough gets rolled thin, and then you cut out circles. I used a shot glass. Perfect!

The crackers get baked until they're firm and browned a bit. I may have rolled mine a bit thin, because they needed the shortest suggested cooking time, and they still got pretty well done. But that's okay! I like 'em that way!

The crackers get baked until they’re firm and browned a bit. I may have rolled mine a bit thin, because they needed the shortest suggested cooking time, and they still got pretty well done. But that’s okay! I like ’em that way!

I’m not a big cracker-eater, but I could definitely see having these around when company’s coming to visit. Hey, like next week! Perfect timing! Of course, Geordie liked these too, and they actually go pretty nicely with his lunch sandwich. They’re not something I’d make every week, but they would make a nice treat every once in a while.

That’s pretty much it for this week – a nice, simple project, which was just what this week needed. It’s been a busy one, and I’m hoping the weekend is a bit less hectic. My parents and brother are coming for a visit, so I’ve got plans to feed them properly, but I’m going for some simple, easy meals. Fortunately, the kitchen is open to the living room, so even if I’m stuck in there, it’s not like I’ll be isolated.

Anyway, these crackers are definitely a nice alternative to “the real thing,” and you can use a variety of cheeses to suit your own tastes (even though I still say that Gruyere is the best choice, but I’m developing a true love affair with this cheese, so maybe I’m biased). They were certainly popular with the French Friday crowd! Check out their links and their cute little cheese crackers. Yum yum – they’re even good for breakfast!

