I finally went and bought the Meatball Shop Cookbook because I kept going back to it and copying recipes, and I figured I’d definitely use it if I bought it. Also, I had a coupon and knocked off about 10 bucks, which is always a good thing. I got it just before Thanksgiving and decided I would make the ground turkey “post-Thanksgiving” meatballs even though we didn’t even have turkey for Thanksgiving. It was a pleasant dish, and it did give the feeling of combining all those yummy Thanksgiving leftovers into one little meatball.

They are not pretty meatballs, but then, most meatballs are not pretty. I can assure, though, they taste better than they look.

They are not pretty meatballs, but then, most meatballs are not pretty. I can assure you, though, they taste better than they look.

The meat base is ground turkey (naturally). Thrown into the mix are dried cranberries, sage, and homemade garlic croutons (the “stuffing” stand-in). Everything gets all mixed together, and then they’re roasted in the oven for a while. I served them with the leftover crockpot sweet potatoes & apples, which added a nice bit of sweetness to the meal.

The only problem was that there is no recommended sauce, and these definitely need a sauce. They taste fine on their own – in fact, they totally taste like a little bit of Thanksgiving dinner! You get the poultry, the stuffing, and the cranberry sauce all in one. All you need is potatoes, and it’d be a mini-Thanksgiving! Oh, and gravy. Because that’s really what these meatballs need, a nice dose of gravy to sauce them up a bit. Sadly, we had no gravy (I’m not sure if I’m allowed to say I’m from the South anymore), and I didn’t feel like making any just for some meatballs (and that’s just the nail in the coffin). Geordie rummaged around in the fridge and came up with the BBQ sauce, and that did the trick. Yes, we ate our turkey meatballs with BBQ sauce. And it was quite, quite tasty! I might go ahead and make them again after the Christmas turkey dinner. Just because.

Actually, I’m going to take a break from making meatballs for a week or two. I’ve got quite a few recipes I want to try, and I’m thinking about making one for our New Year’s Eve dinner. It’s just so hard to choose! I did recently discover that our nearby grocery store carries ground bison, and guess who has found a recipe for ground bison meatballs? Of course I have! I would be very surprised if I don’t make these within the next month or so.

So many kitchen adventures, so little time.

