We got our health insurance finalized this month. That’s great news in and of itself because we’ve gone about a year now without it. It’s even better news because it means that I can start looking for an OB-GYN.

There’s a major mix of emotions going on with this realization. Excitement, anxiety, worry, anticipation, fear. It’s like I don’t know how to feel so I just feel everything.

The biggest thing is that I’m not sure what to expect. I’ve never been to a gynecologist in the States. I’ve also never been without Geordie, which may sound creepy, but he was pretty necessary for the whole Japanese translation thing. I’m actually a little nervous about going without him. Especially any time when needles might be involved. The first time I ever had blood drawn was during Lauren’s pregnancy. That would not have happened without Geordie there to hold my hand and agreeing to let me squeeze it as much as I needed to.

Finding an OB in Japan was actually fairly simple to do – I was limited to doctors who spoke English or were, at the least, open to seeing foreign patients. Here, there’s a lot more to choose from. There are a lot more options. I’m not even sure how to go about it. So, I started with a simple web search. And I’m working my way through that, weeding through what I know I want and what I think might be good for me.

That’s really all I have to say today. It’s just an update on the whole getting pregnant again thing. It’s gone beyond simple waiting now. It’s time for me to do something, to take the first step in making this happen. I realize we still have a long way to go, but it’s good to finally have something to work with. The goal right now is to decide on a doctor (or a clinic – I’m also considering looking into midwives) and get a regular exam and see what happens from there. I’d like to be able to have the exam in December, early January at the latest. That way, if everything checks out, I can start getting my body ready to try again, and we can go ahead with our plan to begin TTC (trying to conceive) in March or April.

So, maybe it’s just the first step, but it’s a very important one. In some ways, a terrifying one.

But, ultimately, a wonderful one.

