Happy Thanksgiving, y’all! Hope it was as good as ours was!

The duck all ready for roasting! I rubbed him up with salt, ginger, and Italian herbs, and then stuffed him with oranges. Throughout roasting, he was basted with a mixture of honey, orange juice, and butter. I forgot to get a picture of him just out of the oven – he looked delicious!

The Thanksgiving table! Roast duck, sweet potatoes and apples cooked in the crockpot, wild mushroom dressing, and cranberry-orange relish. I had intended to make bread rolls but decided that it would take too much time. We made do with rolls from the HEB bakery, along with a cranberry-walnut butter I made to go with them.

The Thanksgiving plate! It was a very delicious dinner. Everything went together quite nicely and was all pretty tasty. The only minor complaint was that the sweet potatoes were not uniformly cooked. But overall, I’d say it was a very successful meal!

Spiced pumpkin pie with a walnut crust, topped with whipped cream sweetened with maple syrup. Served along with some mulled apple cider. A fitting endin to a very fine meal. I couldn’t be happier with how it all turned out!

