It’s just going to be Geordie and me for Thanksgiving this year, so I don’t see any reason to do a big turkey for dinner (saving that for Christmas, when we’ll actually have guests!). I decided that Geordie and I needed a smaller bird, and I wanted something a little more special than a chicken.

Thus:

Hello, little duck. Are you enjoying the freezer? Is the filo dough keeping you company? Don’t worry, little duck, your star moment is coming. I’m sure you’ll be delicious.

I’m quite pleased with this. I’m also very excited about it. The last Thanksgiving Geordie and I had on our own together was two years ago in Japan; I made dinner in his dinky Leo Palace apartment while he was at work. I made chili and skillet cornbread. Good times.

But this year will be a little more involved. Roasted duck, wild mushroom stuffing, apple & sweet potato gratin, homemade creamed corn, and a spiced pumpkin pie to finish things off. I’m sure I’ll be posting about this again after Thanksgiving; consider that a little preview! I’ve never done such a large and complex meal on my own before, which is one reason I’m so excited about doing it. Here’s hoping everything turns out okay!

Happy American Thanksgiving week, y’all! However you’re celebrating (or even if you’re not!), have a good one!

