Yes, technically, we’re past midpoint. But only by a couple days, and this is when I have time to write about it.

By the end of today, I should have 30,006 words written. I currently have 26,284. To hit today’s goal, I need to write 3700 words.

That sounds pretty daunting, but yesterday, I wrote a total of 3200 words, so I think I can do it. If not, I’d at least like to hit 3000 words, jut because that would get me mostly caught up, and I’d have less to worry about on Monday, my busiest day of the week. I’m doing my Thanksgiving shopping on Monday and then attempting to clean the kitchen within an inch of its life. This will probably be an all day thing. Somehow, I’ll have to find time to go pick up Geordie from work.

Oh, and write the daily dose of 1667 words.

As for the story itself, it’s coming along. I started with that idea of mine and not much in the way of plotting, character development, or scene-planning. Most of the writing I’ve done so far is just random scenes I know I want or need the story to have. It’s not the most efficient way to write a story, but it has helped me figure out a few plot details. It also helped me pull in more characters and get a feel for them, which is good because most of them are suspects in the murder part of this mystery.

The surprising thing for me this year is that I’m actually liking the story. I was pretty sure I would hate it and hate writing it because I had put so little prep into it. As it turns out, it’s been kind of fun seeing where all these random scenes take the plot. I’m using them to piece everything together, not unlike a big, confusing jigsaw puzzle. By putting together scenes, I’m figuring out what needs to come before that, what needs to come next, and what it all means for the overall plot.

So, while it’s been enjoyable, it’s also been a bit slow, because I do get stuck every once in a while trying to figure out where to go next. But, that’s okay. Nanowrimo is meant to be productive, but it’s also meant to be enjoyable. If you’re not having fun doing it, I think there may be something wrong, either with the story or with the method. I’ve had a couple years that I absolutely hated writing my story, and I never got past 25,000 words with them. This year, I’m not thrilled with my story, but I’m enjoying it, so I’m sticking with it.

Speaking of which, I’m off to do some writing. If any of you reading this are taking on the Nanowrimo challenge: don’t give up! It doesn’t matter how much you write by the 30th! All that matters is that you make the commitment to write something every day. Write a little, write a lot – just write! Doesn’t matter if it’s good, if it’s terrific, or if it’s just so-so. Write! That’s the most important thing!

Happy noveling!

