The French Friday group has been cooking out of Around My French Table for a while now (just started their third year in October), so I’ve missed a lot of the recipes. Every week, I leaf through the book and see if there’s anything that’s already been done that catches my eye. Turns out, there’s lots. But this is the recipe that really got my heart racing. The group made it a year ago, at the end of October, and it’s no surprise. This is a meal made for autumn.

It’s a pumpkin stuffed with everything good.

Oh, yum.

Seriously, that’s the name of the recipe. And it’s well-named. The filling is pretty flexible, so you can decide what the “everything good” is. For mine, it was homemade bread, Gruyere and Fontina cheeses, lean beef and pork smoked sausage, an apple, and a little garlic. Delicious.

It’s a simple procedure:

Take a sugar pumpkin and hollow it out.

Stuff it with everything good. Pour some cream over top to get it nice and moist.

Bake it until the pumpkin is tender and the stuffing is cooked and bubbly and delicious. Proceed with the devouring.

This can be a meal in itself, a beautiful meal that takes everything awesome about autumn and serves it up in an edible container. I am in love with it. I can’t wait to make it again, with variations. I want more apple, less sausage, cooked kale or spinach, and golden raisins to go in the stuffing. I want to make it a little sweeter and see how that works. A few of the Doristas said they made this every week in November, and I can see why. It’s so adaptable, so flexible, so customizable. And never the same way twice.

Did I say delicious? Because it is. Also: brilliant.

It’s not too late. Go find a sugar (pie) pumpkin and try it yourself. Here’s the recipe. Play with it. See where it takes you. It looks intimidating, but it’s simpler than you might think. And the trip is well worth it.

