This week at Tuesdays with Dorie is a rewind week, a chance to make something that you might have missed. Since I’ve only been a part of the group since mid-October or so, I’ve got a lot to choose from.

I decided to make popovers.

They certainly lived up to their name!

I figured, well, they’re easy. I wouldn’t have to spend any extra money on them either; they’re flour, milk, butter, and eggs. And a little salt. Nothing special, nothing crazy. And very easy to put together.

Seriously, easy. Everything gets thrown into a blender, whirled around until smooth, then poured into a muffin pan. Stick in oven, bake. Done.

Smear with butter and eat immediately!

So beautiful and tall and lumpy!

All that height on the outside means a big open space on the inside! Nice and airy, just the way they should be.

They don’t really need the butter, as they’re tasty enough on their own, but it does help to make them even more delicious. I’m always amazed how something so simple can have such great flavor. As amazing as popovers are for their crispy outside and their custardy inside, their flavor is also simply fantastic. All rich and buttery and creamy.

These are definitely keepers. So easy to do. Making them required very little effort, and eating them was a real treat. They make a great accompaniment to a meal.

Speaking of which, I made the popovers to go with the roasted garlic soup I was so excited about.

Roasted garlic soup with chicken and roasted mushrooms.

The popovers were way better than the soup. Not that the soup was terrible, but it just wasn’t all that great. Not something I would like to eat again. Three heads of garlic went into it, two of them roasted and one of them raw. It was the raw one that overdid it. As much as I like roasted garlic, I’m still not garlic’s number one fan. And too much is just too much.

Fortunately, because of the popovers, the meal wasn’t a total loss. I think they improved the soup, even though they’re not exactly the best soup bread. But they added a buttery-ness to the meal that the soup really needed.

One thing about these popovers – I really do mean “eat immediately!” They really are terrific right out of the oven, they’re good once they’ve cooled a little, but they’re just okay after that. They lose their creaminess and just get soggy. I only made a half-batch, which I was glad for, because having the leftover one for lunch the next day was just sad. Fortunately, I had it with the leftover tagine, so I just stuck it in the juices and let it soak up all the flavor. But by itself, it was only a shadow of the magnificent thing it had been when it first came out of the oven.

Ah, well. And so it goes.

To see more revisited baked goodies, head on over to Tuesdays with Dorie to see what the other bakers think is worth making again (or for the first time!) Popovers were made for August 20th, and the hostesses were Paula and Amy, and they each did a credit to these wonderful little baked goodies.

Happy baking!

