It’s actually an “any-veg-you-have-hanging-around” soup, but Dorie even calls it her “stone soup,” so that’s what I’m calling it.

It’s a perfect season for soup. October is a wonderful month for soup. The temperature is slowly dropping, the air is getting crisper, and there’s that delightful hint of autumn swirling in the wind. It’s weather that sings for soup, cries out for soup.

Or, rather, it does in places other than San Antonio. It’s still quite warm here. Not exactly summer-hot, but warm. I’m used to it. I spent many, many years living in Florida. If anything, San Antonio is a familiar change from the winters I spent in Japan, winters that brought me snow, something I hadn’t experienced in ten years. Also, frigid arctic winds that made riding a bicycle fundamentally impossible.

My first winter in Japan, I lived on soup and soup-variants. In our break-room at work, the three staff members each had a cubby-hole for food. Mine was filled to bursting with powdered soup mixes and hot tea drinks. And microwave rice bowls. For breakfast, I would have tamago-kake-gohan: hot rice with a raw egg mixed in, which cooked the egg a bit, often with a bit of reconstituted miso soup for added flavor. For lunch, I would have powdered soup: corn potage or creamy mushroom or savory tomato or silky sweet potato. For dinner, Beni-sensei and I would sometimes go for a big bowl of ramen, hot enough to keep me warm during the walk home.

Good times.

Now, with a full kitchen at my disposal, I wouldn’t even consider having powdered soup mixes hiding in corners, much less sittingly brazenly on shelves. I don’t even much care for canned soup. I’ve come to crave homemade soups, simmered on the stove until they fill the house with their promises of deliciousness. I long for big bowls of silky smooth vegetable soups and chunky meat stews and nose-tingling chilis. And bread to go along with them! Crusty yeast breads and soft dinner rolls and squares of cornbread. That’s the soup meal I want!

 

Mmm, tasty meal. It almost makes me wish the weather was cooler.

 

I loved this soup. I stuck with Dorie’s recipe (more guidelines than anything else) and made carrots the soup base. Mainly because I love carrots, and I always have carrots hanging around the house. It’s intended to be a soup that uses few ingredients – particularly what you already have in the pantry – and is easy to throw together. It totally lived up to expectations.

It’s all very simple:

 

Slice carrots and throw them in a pot with some garlic and herbs (no onions or celery for me, thank you!) and olive oil and get the carrots a little tender.

Add some chicken broth and a diced potato, bring to a boil, and let it go!

Bake up some nice crusty bread for dipping.

And voila! Soup!

 

I stuck the immersion blender in and pureed it a bit, which gave it a creamier, thicker texture. Some carrot and potato clumps were left, a nice variation on the texture. I baked up some super-easy crusty loaves and served the soup with them.

And it was beautiful.

 

And look at that pretty little dollop of sour cream! Next time, I’ll have some creme fraiche.

 

And it was tasty! And surprisingly filling. Geordie and I were both stuffed afterwards. We finished off the entire pot. Granted, I’d made a half-batch, because we have enough to eat without more leftovers crowded into the fridge. Geordie had to sop up what remained in the pot, but he didn’t complain.

 

 

This is definitely a soup I could make again, happily. It was so easy to do, and the end result was so tasty. Geordie would have added chicken; otherwise, he too approved.

Though it may not feel like autumn here, this soup certainly puts me in the mood for it. It doesn’t matter what the weather is like, sometimes a body just needs a good, tasty soup to bolster the spirit. This one does nicely! Not too heavy, not too light. Perfect.

For other interpretations of Dorie’s vegetable soup, check out French Fridays with Dorie to see what the rest of the Doristas produced. Mmmm, mmmm!

