I can’t say for certain if I like buffalo-spicy or chipotle-spicy better. I like them both. I love them both. I’ve liked chiptole longer, but I don’t think I should hold that against buffalo.

What I do know is that oney and chiptole go together really well, so when I saw a recipe for Honey-Chipotle Turkey Meatballs over at Tracey’s Culinary Adventures (one of my favorite food blogs), I knew I had to make them.

Ground turkey gets kind of a bad rap sometimes. Yes, it can pretty quickly go all dry and crumbly, especially without any bread crumbs or liquid mixed in with it, but if you keep an eye on it, it behaves itself rather well. These turned out delicious and moist, even without the sauce. But the sauce totally made it better. I’d definitely double the sauce next time, just so there’s more spicy-sweet goodness on my plate. It went nicely with the mashed potatoes, but I’d bet rice would work well as a bed too. There’s so much nice flavor in that sauce, it’s hard to pass up a chance to soak it all up with something besides the meatballs.

I’ve mentioned this about meatballs before, but one of the things I’m really loving about them is how easy they are to put together and get on the table. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m pretty slow about prep work – I take my time, and I hate to rush through anything. Making dinner is usually a 60-90 minute affair, which I honestly don’t mind so much. I like the work that goes into, and I don’t mind getting my hands dirty. Obviously, that’s what inevitably happens with meatballs, but they’re so quick to put together that it hardly counts! Matching them up with steamed corn and mashed potatoes made for a relatively easy meal, which is always nice. I don’t mind a meal that takes a lot of time and effort, but not every night of the week. Every once in a while, it’s nice to have something just simple and delicious!

I’d definitely make these again, but it’s still hard to say if I liked them better than the buffalo chicken meatballs or not. Both have their positives: fast, easy, and oh so delicious. And neither of them really had any negatives. The turkey meatballs were a little moister, but they cooked right in their sauce, so that’s not surprising. The buffalo’s bleu cheese sauce brought back a lot of the moistness, so it’s not like that was their great downfall. Bottom line is that I enjoyed them both, and I’d happily make both of them again!

Next week, I’m taking a step outside the box and turning fish into balls. Are they still technically meatballs then? Or are they merely fishballs? Hmm. Either way, they should be pretty tasty.

