Let’s face it: I’ve got some time on my hands. Also, I’ve got a kitchen all my very own.

Okay, so I share it with Geordie. But I spend way more tme in it. I’m pretty sure it likes me better.

So, I’ve got this kitchen, and I’ve got all this time, so I figure: why not put myself to work and make some stuff? Sure, there’s dinner and cupcakes, but I should be making fun stuff, stuff that just doesn’t get made often. It gets bought instead, like caramel sauce or butter. Maybe I haven’t quite figured out the homemade butter thing, but that’s alright. I will.

Also: hummus.

I made that hummus (or, rather, what’s left of it). All by myself. I made the tahini that went into it too. And it was easy and delicious.

I love hummus. Usually, we buy the Sabra brand, and I’m pretty partial to their Pine Nut and Spinach-Artichoke varieties. But occasionally, the hummus has an overpowering red pepper flavor to it, which makes no sense because red pepper is not a typical flavor for hummus unless it is labeled as such. I do not liked red peppers. Neither does Geordie (we were so made for each other). The first hummus we bought in San Antonio was Sundried Tomato & Basil, which is a pretty awesome flavor combination.

Except this time, because it had a funky red pepper overtone to it. I did not like it, and I would not eat it. Geordie soldiered through it.

After we’d moved into the house and I set up my kitchen (the first thing I did), Geordie said to me, “Well, why don’t you think about making your own hummus?”

I said, “I will.”

I didn’t have to think about it much. I quickly decided that was just what I would do, the first chance I got. It only took about a week.

First, I had to find a good recipe. I went to the professionals at the Food Network, and Alton Brown came through for me. He gets under Geordie’s skin at times, and I find him informative but over-talky, but the man knows what he’s doing, and I know I can trust him. Plus, he makes things uber-easy, which I always like.

One pound of chickpeas (cooked in the crockpot), garlic, lemon juice, tahini, seasoning, and olive oil. That’s it, that’s hummus. I saw that recipe and thought, I can do that.

Or, I could, if I could get my hands on some tahini.

Look, San Antonio is a big city. It has big grocery stores. The ones closest to me didn’t have tahini. Nor did the ones a little further away from me. There’s a Whole Foods on the other side of the city, along with a couple Middle Eastern groceries that might have it. That required driving in unknown parts of the city. For one ingredient.

Here’s the thing about me and driving: generally speaking, I like it. However, when it comes to driving in a big city, I don’t like it so much. Particularly in downtown, high-traffic areas. I didn’t think it was worth the effort to buy a $10 jar of tahini.

What is tahini exactly? I asked myself. Can I make it?

The answer is: yes. Yes, I can.

Tahini is sesame seeds and olive oil. That’s all.

Oddly enough, I had a lot of sesame seeds. My mother bought some back in January when we wanted a sesame dipping sauce for our shabu-shabu dinner. Trouble is, she bought way too many. When we moved, she gave them to me. Plenty of sesame seeds, just sitting around and hanging out with my spices. I needed two cups of sesame seeds; I had one and a half. I bought a small container for about two bucks to bring it up to two cups, and that was that. I toasted those bad boys up, pulsed them in the food processor, drizzled in the olive oil, and processed away.

Tahini. Enough for more than two batches of hummus. I’m making baba ghanoush tomorrow. And sesame honey cupcakes. Plenty of tahini to go around.

But really, all this was done for the hummus. After the cooking of the chickpeas, it took me all of maybe ten minutes to make the hummus. The best-tasting hummus I have ever had. So fresh! So light! So amazingly, astoundingly, astonishingly delicious! I scraped the bowl clean and ate it up. By itself, no pita chips necessary. Yum.

It was a lot of hummus. I filled the first container full, then filled two smaller containers and stuck them in the freezer. The big container has lasted us a week. I’ve been eating it for breakfast with pita chips. Geordie’s been having it on sandwiches. I’ve got a whole ‘nother pound of chickpeas waiting to make more hummus. I’m thinking of playing with flavors next time around; maybe it’s time for some of my own Sundried Tomato hummus!

Seriously, folks, if you like hummus, consider making your own. I’m never going back to store-bought hummus again. Homemade all the way, baby!

