I’ve been sick since Monday night. Not sure what is going through me, because there have been plenty of symptoms to consider: fever, headaches, body aches, nausea, intestinal troubles. Still feeling pretty weak and tired today, but at least I feel not sick. I had a couple of posts I wanted to do this week (for May Day, for my latest batch of cupcakes, for Geordie’s birthday), but I haven’t even turned on my computer since Monday night.

And that’s not even the worst of this week. Tuesday morning, when I was just beginning to determine how sick I was, we learned that one of Geordie’s aunts had died, suddenly and unexpectedly. She had been ill for a while, but apparently nothing beyond bad flu symptoms. And then Tuesday morning, she collapsed at home and could not be revived. Cause of death hasn’t been determined yet, but no matter what it was, the fact is that she was the youngest of her siblings, had two daughters she was devoted to, and was only 46 years old. Only five years older than Geordie.

Bad enough that she would go so quickly but so young too.

I hadn’t even had a chance to meet her. I am mostly just a mute witness to her family’s grief. The more I hear about her, the more regretful I am that I never got to meet her. Geordie was looking forward to seeing her again too. We just thought we had all the time we needed.

We were wrong.

It’s been a rough week.

