I have a hard time rejecting food requests from my husband. He really wanted corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day dinner. I’d never made it before, but I’m not one to step down from a food challenge. So, Saturday, we had a very classic corned beef and cabbage dish. On Sunday, we had Rueben sandwiches for lunch (a delicious way to use up the leftovers) and beer-cheddar soup for dinner. I also made Irish Car Bomb cupcakes for my brother and revamped the Thin Mint cupcakes into something much tastier. All in all, a very successful weekend as far as food went.

He was so happy about this dinner. I’d never had corned beef and cabbage before, and it was much easier than I expected. I wouldn’t mind making my own corned beef next year.

I still don’t think it makes for a very attractive meal, but it was certainly delicious. Seems a shame to do it only once a year. The beef was so juicy and tender, and the veggies were cooked perfectly.

The pseudo-Reuben. We made a few changes, so it’s not the traditional Reuben. Instead of Swiss, we used Provolone; instead of Thousand Island dressing, we used honey-dijon mustard; instead of sauerkraut, we used the leftover cabbage. A Reuben in spirit if not in actuality. Also, it wasn’t particularly pretty, but it sure was tasty!

The beer-cheese soup, with pumpernickel croutons. The recipe needed a lot of tweaking, but it came out alright. The croutons might’ve been the best part.

The re-worked Thin Mint cupcakes. Way better this time around. I put chopped-up Thin Mints in the batter, which gave the cake a nice minty taste. I put a minty whipped cream filling in the center, and I flavored the frosting with Creme de Menthe. A much moister cake, with a lot of mint flavor.

Unfortunately, my attitude hasn’t been as high-spirited as the food. Still working on that.

