Today, I am thankful for parents who take good care of us, including let us stay in their guest bedroom and pay for our dental cleanings.

I’ve always been the independent type. I don’t like people telling me what to do, and I like doing things on my own (just ask my mother). While I try to be gracious in accepting help from others, I would much prefer to do everything on my own, my way. Especially that last part. Honestly, I don’t know how my mother managed to put up with me for so long as a toddler and a child (apparently, I made up for it in my teen years, my least troublesome period). It amazes me that she would welcome me back into her home, because, frankly, I don’t think I’ve changed that much. Still stubborn, still independent, still not very responsive to direct orders. Or even indirect orders. Still very much wanting to do things my way or not at all.

But then, I’m blessed to have a great family, one that tolerates me and all my various moods. How they do it, I don’t know. Perhaps they’ve just adjusted to them over time. Or perhaps they’re just willing to overlook them in favor of my good qualities, whatever those might happen to be.

This is a short post today, because the aforementioned dental cleaning took up most of my day. Also, I’m not much in a journaling mood. I’m hoping to do some creative writing later, now that I’ve actually got something to work on. On the up side, I still have good teeth! I have a filling that needs some attention, but for the most part, it’s all good. Not bad after three and a half years of skipping dental appointments.

So, thank you, family: Mama, Daddy, and Baby Bro (whom I will always call my “little brother” even if he is 6′ 9″). Love you.

