Fatigue slammed into me this week. It seems that since I know about the baby now, my body isn’t going to hide it from me. I haven’t been exceedingly sick, but I have been outrageously, ridiculously tired.

On Sunday, I slept about sixteen hours. Unfortunately, it was a working day for me. More unfortunately, I refused to get out of bed. Geordie did his best; he even let me sleep in until the last possible minute. He tried to rouse me again. I had a feeling he probably thought I was trying to play hooky – a reasonable assumption, considering how much I dislike my job with Nova. But, no, I was not faking it. I could barely keep my thoughts together as he knelt next to me and asked me if I wanted him to call in sick for me. I must have managed a mumbled “yes,” because he left me alone. I heard his distant chatter on the phone, but I wasn’t capable of trying to decipher his Japanese. I drifted off again, happily.

I woke up four hours later, in the early afternoon. Geordie was sitting at the coffee table, working at his computer. I stared at him blearily.

“Hey, pup,” he said to me. “You okay?”

“Hungry,” I groaned.

He made tomato soup for me, and I sat next to him on the couch as we ate. He was job-hunting, searching for something better than the temporary work he was doing in a city a three-hour train ride away. I was glad he had the next Monday off; I needed him around the rest of Sunday. He took wonderful care of me.

After about an hour, another wave of fatigue hit me, and I went back to bed. When I woke up again, it was dark out. I wasn’t very hungry that time, but Geordie insisted I eat something. I settled on a couple pieces of maple bread with butter and honey. While I checked my email, I nibbled on the bread, happy to be eating a bit, as it cleared up my nausea. I haven’t been too sick with Lucky, but I do get queasy when I’m hungry. Ginger ale helps too.

By eight o’clock, I was tired again. I napped for about an hour then decided to brush my teeth and get ready for real bed.

“You sure you’re going to be able to sleep all night?” Geordie asked me as I settled back down on the futons.

“Yup!”

He seemed doubtful, but I was right. Only a few minutes after my head hit the pillow, I was out. I woke up briefly when he came to bed. He kissed my forehead and whispered, “Guess you weren’t faking after all.”

“Nope,” I mumbled.

“What’s going to happen tomorrow?”

“Don’t know. Sleep now.”

Fortunately, the next morning, I felt fine. Not even groggy. I still didn’t want to go to work, but that is nothig new. Apparently, I just needed some extra sleep. Lucky must have been doing lots of growing!

 

Also in the news this week: Geordie proposed to me.

After we had talked to our families about the pregnancy, we concluded that we would have to get married eventually. It was rather a rational and logical decision. Neither of us really asked the other about it; it was just something we both knew we wanted.

What I should have known is that Geordie wouldn’t leave it at that. Apparently, he wanted to ask me, not exactly formally but appropriately. He just chose an odd place for it.

It happened after the doctor’s appointment. Instead of stopping at Moriya, we continued two more stations along the Tsukuba Express and went to the Lala Port mall at Kashiwanoha Campus. We walked around a bit and then headed up to the food court for dinner. We settled on an Indian fast food place called Geeta. I’m not much for Indian food, but I do love the butter chicken curry. And nan. I could feast on nan all day long.

What were we even talking about? Just chatting about stuff. Geordie kept reaching out to take my hand. I kept pulling it back away from him because I was trying to eat.

Finally, he grabbed my hand and caressed it a bit. He said, “Hey, listen to me a moment, okay?”

“Okay. What?” I asked, putting my fork down.

“I want to ask you something.”

“Okay,” I said again, trying not to smile. He was being too serious for me to smile, even if he was a little silly at the same time.

He stammered a moment before coming out with it. “Well, will you marry me?”

I did laugh then. Was that all? “Yes, silly goose! Of course I will.”

“Do you really want to?” he asked. I could see what he was afraid of. Maybe having a baby can make people do crazy things.

“Yes,” I said, covering his hand with my other one. “I do want to. I love you.”

Sheer relief washed over his face. He made a show of composing himself. “Are you sure?” he joked with me. “Because then you’ll be stuck with me.”

“I think I can manage,” I replied wryly.

And that was that. Impromptu, perhaps, but heartfelt just the same. And it’s true. I do love him, and I do want to marry him. And, wonder of wonders, I want this baby of ours I’m carrying, this Lucky of ours. So, no ring, no amazing set-up, but that’s okay. I don’t really need all that. Just Geordie and Lucky. That’s what I want.

As for the marriage itself, we don’t know when. Sometime in the future, possibly before Lucky is born. We haven’t really discussed dates or anything yet. It would be great if we could get married back in the States with a real ceremony, surrounded by friends and family . . . but that might not be realistic. For now, we’re going to have to stick with realistic. There’s also the matter of what we have to do to get it done here. All we know for certain is that if we get married here, we won’t have to do it all over again in the States. An official Japanese marriage certificate is completely valid.

I can’t say that this is how I imagined getting married and starting a family. I don’t mind. I never really knew what I wanted. Now I know that as long as I’ve got Geordie and Lucky close to me, I’ll be happy. That’s all it takes.

